Ian’s Answers…

14 02 2008

1. What’s something you’re into or a fan of that you are embarassed to admit to?
The TV show Grey’s Anatomy 
2. This is not baseball related but what is your all time favorite movie?
Dumb and Dumber
3. hey Ian, Do you answer fan mail or did I just waste 82 cents?
I try and answer as much fan mail as I possibly can. Sometimes it can be very time consuming so I won’t guarantee it.
4. Who’s better at HALO, Phil or Joba?
Phil, hands down.
5. Ian, what’s the benefit of throwing the “vulcan” changeup instead of the normal changeups (circle and straight grips)? more downward movement? it is a comfort thing?
It’s more of a comfort thing. I had trouble throwing a traditional circle change so I tried a “vulcan” grip and found it more comfortable and had more movement. (grip below)
img_0274.jpg 

6. (bonus) How come you chose #31 and do you have any plans to change it in the future?
31 is my favorite number and what I used in high school. I don’t plan on changing it.  


Actions

Information

84 responses

14 02 2008
darkdantae

Phil, even though my question didn’t get picked, great piece of content, this is exactly what blogging is all about. You get a thumbs up from me.

14 02 2008
eugiethegreat

Ian, thanks for answering my question and Phil, thanks for getting another player on here. That’s pretty cool.

14 02 2008
yankeechick78

Now Ian go home to your wife. :)

14 02 2008
riverwolf2005

Shockin to see a pitcher and his pitching buddy to have a OMLB sitting around, LOL

Great work guys. Thanks Phil and Ian for the insight.

14 02 2008
yankeex777

phil can easily strike me out on 3 pitches, but i would pwn you in halo!! set up the match! haha

14 02 2008
yankeesben

Ian thanks for sharing your time with us, best of luck to the season.
“1. What’s something you’re into or a fan of that you are embarassed to admit to?
The TV show Grey’s Anatomy ”
Doesn’t seem you’re this embarassed. Lol! Enjoy guy’s.

14 02 2008
yankeechick78

I’d also like to extend thanks to Phil for setting this up and Ian, taking the time to answer questions.

Good luck this year to both of you. Bring us back to the promise land and #27!! It’s been a while.

14 02 2008
legendsfield

That was pretty awesome!! Thanks Guys

14 02 2008
bronxliaison

Great stuff guys… this was a good idea that you should continue during camp

http://bronx-bomberz.blogspot.com/

14 02 2008
mrsvickid

you guys rock! :-)

14 02 2008
purewaves

outstanding idea for a post, fun reading.

14 02 2008
thehugeunit

Wow thats awesome, thanks for the picture.

14 02 2008
mattnyytoronto

#6 was also like my question, thanks for answering. Good luck in 08.

14 02 2008
thecaptain15

Phil,

Awesome job getting Ian to do this. Maybe next time you can get shelley to answer some questions. I would love to see the questions we could come up with for him! His candid answers would also be fun to see.

Can’t wait for the season. Good health to all

http://www.madein1903.com/forum

14 02 2008
metalboy15

Thanks you guys! :)

14 02 2008
davej480

Wow.. That was cool to see. Thanks… Wonder if Ian said that because Phil was there about him being better at halo then Joba, or it Phil just put that in himself… =) j/k. Do you guys play any other games?

14 02 2008
fleaz

I’m curious to know if you guys prefer PS3 or Xbox360. I have both, but my xbox360 just collects dust. Right now there is no better game then Call Of Duty 4 at least until Socom confrontation comes out.

14 02 2008
xsandman42x

Does doing a print screen and saving a picture of Ian answering my question and also saving a response by Phil to one of my previous comments make me a tad bit obsessed with the Yankees.

14 02 2008
xsandman42x

Hey Phil, how about best Yankees tattoo for a contest to win something.

14 02 2008
frits01

i’m loving this blog phil.

14 02 2008
dunkaroos

AMAZING POST!

And with a picture? You guys are the best.

Good Luck in 08, Ian.

And you too, Phil. :-)

14 02 2008
ashleynicole1987

Great questions and great answers! That was fun to read!
Phil, you are really doing a nice job blogging, keep up the great work!!
I look forward to your posts every day.
I’d love to hear what Jeff Karstens has to say, maybe he can be a guest like Ian was??

14 02 2008
yanksgal07

With all the nonsense that has been going on lately in baseball…I’d like to thank Phil for being a breath of fresh air by doing this blog. It’s especially wonderful for young people (and older like me) to actually get to know the player they admire directly from the player himself and not just what you read in the papers (which many times are far from the reality).

I like to think the Yankees struck GOLD with the likes of the young guys on this team….Phil, Joba, IPK, Shelley, Robbie, Melky and hopefully many more to come. Not just for their abilities but their personalities as well…bringing new life to the team.

You, Phil, have made the fans feel more like friends than just the people who help pay your salary. As hectic and busy as you must be ..just to take time out and think of the fans for a few minutes each day will definitely win you loyalty and a fantastic following.

Thanks for being the wonderful young man you seem to be ….keep on the right path and the baseball world is yours…

Can’t wait for the season to start …I have tickets to Opening Day. Best of luck to all of you …

Go Yankees 2008 !!!!

14 02 2008
gonyanks21

Awesome, please pass along a huge thank you for answering my question!

14 02 2008
Phil Hughes

Part of the agreement was I had to type out the answers. I also got to show off my awesome camera skills. Hope you enjoyed.

14 02 2008
arkeytec

Thanks Ian and Phil for the post! I look forward to your blog more and more everyday!

14 02 2008
mdmiller

Phil,

You throw a circle change correct? Have you ever thought of changing grips to the Vulcan?

14 02 2008
usgrant

I missed it! Oh well, it’s nice to read the questions and Ian’s answers and that you guys did this. Now go report! Looking forward to the season.

14 02 2008
chrissylovesnyy

Ian has great taste in movies and TV shows. :)

14 02 2008
nick2slick

Hey Phil, you play Halo?!

You play on xbox live at all?

14 02 2008
jeshkayanks

the q&a was great. you should do that more often with other players. if possible. phil, whens your next q&a? about you

14 02 2008
bethnyyfan

You guys ROCK!!!! Thanks Ian and Phil!

14 02 2008
xsandman42x

I agree completely with yanksgal07. It doesn’t feel like there is a disconnect between Phil and us. Talking to us and showing us stuff like we arent just passing fans is much appreciated. Being 23 years old myself I can only imagine how surreal this all is at such a young age.

14 02 2008
nyygirl

You Guys are awesome! Thanks for doing all of this. I know it gets crazy and for you to talk to us fans is really cool

14 02 2008
manimal529

Ian get your own blog!!!

Nice questions and answers, I bet you guys I can kick your butt in halo.

14 02 2008
manimal529

Send me a friend request, Gamertag=Manimal527

14 02 2008
niven311

hey phill do u play call of duty 4 on xbox?

14 02 2008
vermilion23

Wow awesome Phil, I didn’t check the blog today till now. This is a really really awesome idea. Thank you for getting him to answer some questions like that. can’t wait to see what you guys do this year. Keep up the good work on the blog, also awesome shot for the hand/finger placement on his change up.

14 02 2008
longhornkhoa

Phil, I know you asked for prize ideas earlier. How about getting your buddy Shelley to donate a prize. That being a “Red Sox Suck -Shelley Duncan” signed baseball. Ha!

14 02 2008
chriswax

Phil, I agree with all the posters – I think this is awesome – I have always been a Yankee fan my whole life (32 yo) and to be able to find out what’s going on in your life (and Ian/Shelley, etc) is just unbelievable!

Thanks!!!!

14 02 2008
uptowngirl710

Thanks, Phil! You’re really creative with this blog.

14 02 2008
ny426

Hey nice blog and awesome idea Phil.

14 02 2008
paddyo6

thanks for answering my question, Phil u do a great job with your blog

14 02 2008
psuyank

Hey Phil-
Tell Ian thanks from all of us! I think Pete Abe’s getting a little bit jealous of your “in” with the players! Anyway, this has nothing to do with this blog roll, but now that the writers’ strike is over, they’re going to start filming new episodes of The Office again! Are you excited?!? I am!

14 02 2008
ilovephil

Ian.. will you marry me? Phil said no. =(

14 02 2008
yanks4ever13

Cool idea Phil. It’s great to get to know players better this way!

14 02 2008
rebeccaoptimist

This was awesome. You should try to do it with everyone.

I imagine the clubhouse Thursday nights, with Grey’s Anatomy on, and all the guys gathered on a couch after the game watching the TiVo version…

14 02 2008
bethnyyfan

I think Ian just got married. Isn’t that right?

14 02 2008
kevinpage23

What type of music do you listen to? Any major leaguers you know that like “death metal”? (Bolt Thrower, Morbid Angel, Bloodbath, Grave, Obituary, Cannibal Corpse)

14 02 2008
bnp3871

Phil, Please let Ian borrow your ‘The Office’ dvds so he doesn’t watch Grey’s Anatomy anymore. There is no excuse for that unless he’s just being a good newlywed husband. Go Yanks.

14 02 2008
emobacca

Yeah Ian will never put that shitty show on again after he becomes acquainted with Pam Beesly

14 02 2008
bigapplesportsblog

Gray’s Anatomy? Ouch. He kind of redeemed himself with Dumb and Dumber though.

- http://www.bigapplesports.net

14 02 2008
bxbomber44

i’m 2/2 with getting ?’s into these Q&A’s whoop de whoop

14 02 2008
aquamanperu

Ian is going to shine. :-)

14 02 2008
sethmurphy

great answers from Kennedy, great interaction, but come on Greys Anatomy, terrible choice. Dumb and Dumber is legendary though

14 02 2008
nyyfan5

Cool stuff Phil…thanks again for communicating with us fans!

14 02 2008
betsypaige

Ooh, I missed the Q& A session, but work comes first!

Phil – thank you so much for doing this for the fans. It’s extremely refreshing to see a young athlete with his head on his shoulders…..and I feel so proud that you wear the pinstripes. Very, very cool to get Ian on board. Ian, thanks for taking the time to answer our questions. I have to say I’ve never seen Dumb and Dumber, but maybe I should take time to rent it.

14 02 2008
Kaitlin

You have to admire a guy who admits he watches Grey’s. It’s like Bill Simmons admitting that he watched The O.C. Even if you think it’s awful, owning up to it is very cool. I happen to love Seasons 1 and 2. :D

Very cool, both for the idea (Phil) and the answers (Ian).

Excellent camera work, btw. I’ve always been interested in pitching grips. Sadly, I have very tiny hands so I can’t actually use any, but it was awesome to see what the vulcan change grip looks like.

Phil, when you were typing the answers, did you give yourself just a little leg up on the HALO question? Maaaaybe? ;)

14 02 2008
brianna24

grey’s anatomy is a great choice!!! Phil if you don’t watch it you should start im sure Ian needs a friend to watch it with, but besides the yankees its my favorite thing to watch! . . . . .Happy Valentines day!!

14 02 2008
yankeechick78

Phil’s on 880 NOW!! TUNE IN.

14 02 2008
rpillai

I wish i was a Yankee pitcher so I could hang out with you guys.

14 02 2008
captchris74

Thanks Ian and Phil! It’s great getting to know you guys through this blog. Good luck now that Spring Training is getting started in earnest. Looking forward to you guys coming North!

14 02 2008
39poolshark

I have a question related to one answered by Ian already… but for both of you.

Do you sign cards or baseballs that people send you and mail them back? There’s a lot of websites out there that show a good amount of players doing stuff like this, and I would like to send something in the event I don’t get to meet you at spring training.

14 02 2008
stephaniewilson

thanks for the update.. i am truly looking forward to years of u 3 pitching!!

14 02 2008
xsandman42x

Saw all you guys on tv talking about the whole Clemens Pettitte situation and I must say I was impressed with how you guys handled it. I’m happy to have the future of the Yankees in all of your hands.

14 02 2008
alexbyanks

thanks phil!

14 02 2008
longhornkhoa

Phil, speaking of video games, do you play Madden? How bout any of the baseball games? Frankly, the old school Nintendo RBI Baseball’s still the best.

15 02 2008
arigold13

Awesome work Phil.
Speaking of video games, I can’t wait for the names of Hughes, Chamberlain, and Kennedy to be in MLB 08 so I can stop creating you guys haha.

15 02 2008
iheartny22

hey phil! i love the blog. your photos are really nice too. anyways, best of luck to you and the guys this season. i look forward to coming to the stadium to see y’all play. take care, have a great spring training and enjoy the awesome weather down south!!

15 02 2008
yankeejohn

I didn’t realize Ian threw the change like that. Awesome info!

15 02 2008
longhornkhoa

Phil, have you read “The Gospel According to Phil?”

http://www.freewebs.com/thegospelaccordingtophilhughes/philhughesfacts.htm

Its brought to you by the same dudes who are behind the Shelley Duncan Facts site. Good stuff.

15 02 2008
raulaguero

Hey Phil you need to start writing again pal.
Let us know whats going on at spring training.Hey and whats up with Pettite? what have u heard?

15 02 2008
fleaz

Phil,

Where do the players families sit at legends? I have 2 seats on top of the Yankees dugout for some games I may not go to. I’d gladly give them up to someone’s family. I’m pretty sure family sits to the left of the dugout but that doesn’t always mean the front row.

I’ve had these seats for about 2 years but they have been in my family for twelve. I am sure someone would want their family members to sit there and I would prefer to let them have it then put them on stubhub.

email: mikeisgreat _@_ gmail dot com

15 02 2008
megenthal

ipk= new maddux.
phil=new mussina (the early version)

15 02 2008
megenthal

is it only a mattter of time before the yankees start monitoring these blog for pr reasons?

15 02 2008
sfp99

Phil, print this out and post it in the clubhouse. This should fire you guys up this year!!!

http://mlb.mlb.com/news/article.jsp?ymd=20080215&content_id=2374140&vkey=spt2008news&fext=.jsp&c_id=mlb

15 02 2008
ashleynicole1987

Does any one need spring training tickets, i have some to sell to you. I cant make go which im really upset about. Just let me kno. Or does anyone know what i can do with them cuz i really want to get rid of them??

15 02 2008
unccmeangreen12

any updates phil?

15 02 2008
molepuncher

So does Ian have trouble speaking with the English media with the language barrier? Do you and Joba help in translating our American customs and slang for him?
I really wish him well and hope his assimilation into our culture goes easily.

Is his favorite cereal Lucky Charms?

15 02 2008
ebrown2112

IPK’s favorite movie is “Dumb and Dumber”? I’d better send him some rental suggestions.

As for Grey’s Anatomy, I have two words: “The Wire”.
:)

16 02 2008
chefbare

hey phil, i just want to say when you were healthy last year, you were amazing. i think your worth is gonna be alot more for this organization then santana could of been. i have watched your texas game mad times, i saw you strike out 2 batters with a pitch that was 86 then 88, was that your slider? in that game it seemed like you were just throwing everything you had for strikes. keep up the good work and i am looking foward to your future as a yankee

16 02 2008
akharaz

Phil,

I’m sure you’ve read Pete Abraham’s post on Carl Pavano. What are your thoughts on the worst free agent signing of all time?

17 02 2008
jts73521

Phil,

It’s great that you’ve established this blog! I hate to bring this up, but I imagine you’ll find it interesting. My two youngest boys (12 and 10) are big-time gamers and I mentioned that Ian said you were better than Joba hands down in Halo. I asked them if they thought they could beat you and Joba in Halo 3 and they confidently said yes. I asked if they felt they could hit any of your pitches and they confidently said no. They also said they are glad you weren’t traded and are excited about this year for you as a Yankee. It’s kind of cool seeing kids be so honest about things. While I am not sure if they can beat you in Halo 3, I do know they are very good from what my oldest son (27) says who is the original big-time gamer of this household.

Anyway, we’ll see you this spring at Legends for 5 games. Can’t wait! Hope to get your autograph for the kids.

20 02 2008
yellowhammer

This is pretty cool… Carl Pavano… What if he rebounds? He should feel obligated to sign a $0 dollar contract for doing nothing the last three years…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

