Breaking Benjamin

6 03 2008

Last year in Scranton I had the opportunity to meet Ben Burnley, the lead singer of one of my favorite bands, Breaking Benjamin. Well Tuesday night he texts saying they’re in town and asked if I wanted to go to their show. Couldn’t pass it up! Got to watch BB and Three Days Grace perform from the stage. It was awesome. Here’s a couple pics. One from last year in Scranton and a crappy cell phone pic from the stage.

img_0681.jpg 
img00045.jpg 


Actions

Information

70 responses

6 03 2008
yankeesfan46

sweet deal!

6 03 2008
chrissylovesnyy

Cool pics! Two awesome bands. I’m jealous.

6 03 2008
arkeytec

It’s always cool to have the hook ups! Thanks for sharing the pics!

6 03 2008
Evil Carbon

I think that is really special.

Global Warming alarmists beware… EvilCarbon.com

6 03 2008
ejbelair

Oh to be famous…. Not a fan of the band, but who wouldn’t love to have rock stars texting them???

6 03 2008
bigbluuuu

great bands, looks like you’re quite the celebrity in training!

6 03 2008
riverwolf2005

WHAT A NIGHT! Great times Phil. Nice to see you had a great time. I have no idea if you even read anything I write, LOL, but still awesome!

BB & TDG are 2 of my FAVORITE bands as well!

6 03 2008
gary200102

It’s cool. Pic 1 is from last year?

6 03 2008
gorgey31

That is awesome that you like those bands too. I saw both of them in Washington DC last summer. It was a great experience. BB is my favorite rock band by a long shot!

6 03 2008
ilovenyy

Fun :) they were just here in Bossier City, LA….although I’m sure you have NO idea where that is! Interesting game today…I’m just glad it wasn’t a 12-0 game….12-8 is much better. Are you pitching this Sunday? I thought I heard/read that somewhere.

6 03 2008
mirofoto

BB Rocks! If you haven’t, you should check out an “older” band called the Samshing Pumpkins … similar style of music … Smashing Pumpkins front man, Billy Corgan, co-wrote three songs on BB’s album We Are Not Alone: Rain, Follow and Forget It.

6 03 2008
yankeegirl65

sweet deal phil…three days grace is one of my faves and breaking benjamin is pretty awesome thanks for sharing the pics…im jealous!

6 03 2008
nyyfan5

Dude thats awesome…BB is a great band.

6 03 2008
manimal529

Did you buy MLB 2k8? Give us some impressions.

Is it wierd to see yourself in a videogame?

6 03 2008
nyyanks71377

Good deal!! The locker room at Scranton looks pretty sweet, any more pics from up there? I heard Clemens hooked up the locker room when he made his stop last year, any truth?
Mike A-town, Pa.

6 03 2008
watersportgurl11

Lucky!! three days grace is an amazing band and you had, well what looked like really nice seats! <3 Sarah

6 03 2008
Canada Day

ROCK ON PHIL!!!! Breaking Benjamin is great!!! However, I bet Three Days Grace rocked the house that night, being they’re from CANADA!!!!!! WOOT!!! GO CANADA GO!

6 03 2008
dahouse292

hey phil thats pretty cool, getting to be on stage with ur favorite band.
when r u posting the next competition?

6 03 2008
bethnyyfan

Very cool pictures Phil. I know that baseball players don’t make a lot of money but have you ever thought of investing in a small camera?

I only say that because you seem to wind up in very cool places with very cool people and you might want to record the times of your life. :)

Rock on! ~ Beth

6 03 2008
yank27

I must admit, I’m not a big BB fan, but that is very very cool.

6 03 2008
soshasarah

Nice . . .

6 03 2008
bronxbomber05

Hey cool pics,
nice game against Toronto by the way

6 03 2008
iheartny22

It must be nice to have someone from your favorite band text you and invite you to watch a show… from the stage! Not too many people can say that. You are livin’ the life my friend. Enjoy it!

6 03 2008
defensewins

You didn’t meet them, they met you ;)

In all seriousness, must have been fun!

6 03 2008
iheartny22

Oh yeah, Beth made a good point on the camera thing. A Canon Powershot G9 would be great for you. It has 12.1 megapixels which equals very nice details in your images, plus it’s small so you can carry it everywhere. Talk to ya later:)

6 03 2008
rebeccaoptimist

That’s pretty freakin’ sweet!

6 03 2008
manes86

Sweet deal!! They came to our school (Bloomsburg University) in Central PA last spring on their way back to Scranton. I played ball here (Division II) for 2 years. Baseball and Breaking Benjamin…. two things we have in common besides age! I’ll be down in Tampa on the 13th to see you guys play the Pirates. Hope to see you then!!

6 03 2008
yanks4ever13

oh, so instead of coming and telling us who won the contest, you went to a concert? well, I feel so loved now. haha. Glad you had a good time.

6 03 2008
Phil Hughes

I actually just got a canon eos rebel xti a little while ago. I plan on taking some great pictures this year. Just didn’t have it with me the night of the concert.

6 03 2008
thefuturephiljobaian

Sick, awesome for you Phil, Breaking Benjamin is one of my favorite bands too, sure it was an amazing show.

6 03 2008
trevwolff

rock on, franchise. Rock on!

6 03 2008
loveyankeebaseball65

omg thts awsome!! i was just listening the Three Days Grace. they are great. that must have been pretty cool seeing it from the stage. im glad you had a good time.

p.s i am exicted to see the new pictures with the new camera.=]]

6 03 2008
alex4yanks

I love Breaking Benjamin, you wouldnt happen to be familiar with the band
’10 years’ … i find them to be similar in ways… that’s cool you got to hang with Burnley

6 03 2008
bigdogg48

Hey [hil, those are 2 great bands. You should try listening to Art of Dying and Evans Blue. Two other bands you might be interested in.

6 03 2008
bigdogg48

Seether are really good too.

6 03 2008
iheartny22

yep, a rebel will work too. have fun with it!

6 03 2008
Phil Hughes

bigdogg48, evans blue rocks! I think I mentioned them on some previous songs of the day posts. Also, Seether opened for BB and TDG. I didn’t make it early enough to see them.

6 03 2008
alex4yanks

speaking of Evans Blue, i just heard one of their songs… ‘The pursuit’ … one of my favorites from em’

6 03 2008
bigdogg48

yeah….evan’s blue is a band that does not get enough airplay. I expect big things from them. Another is Egypt Central.

6 03 2008
yankeegrl

I’ve seen Three Days Grace in concert twice. Once at a really small venue and again at a larger one. They are awesome. Same sort of sound, and a band you may or may not be familiar with is, Theory of A Deadman. They are incredible, as well. If you’re not familiar, you should check them out!

6 03 2008
xpigeonx

breaking benjamin huh… what are your feelings about senses fail ??

6 03 2008
slayercommathe

That is AWESOME! Breaking Benjamin and Three Days Grace are great bands, as is Evans Blue. Beg is one of my favorite songs ever.

6 03 2008
yankeefaninidaho

Scranton huh? Did you by chance head down to Dunder-Mifflin to check up on our favorite office workers? I was also curious to know if Scrantonicity opened for breaking benjamin.

6 03 2008
yankeesrule2413

okay, so I know that this has nothing to do with the band but I was wondering if you’re going with the stirrups (or “high socks”, as I like to call them) this season . . . I don’t why I asked, but I was just wondering?

6 03 2008
mrbassman9090

Breaking Benjamin and Three Days Grace! What a great concert, especially to watch from stage.

6 03 2008
dagmen17

sweeet

6 03 2008
langhower

I didn’t get the privledge of seeing BB, but I saw Seether and Three Days Grace when they came to my city. They rocked the house out. Evans Blue is a killer band too, I bought their CD over a year ago and still love throwing it on and turning it up. Its awesome. A great band I really like, kind of similar stuff to Evans, is Nonpoint. Check em out… Alive and Kicking is my favorite tune by them.

6 03 2008
longhornkhoa

Uh Oh. How does your boy Ian the Trojan feel about you throwing your Horns up?

6 03 2008
yanksdmavs2541

sickkkkk. I went to the first night of the tour up in Massachusetts. Awesome concert, glad you had a good time.

6 03 2008
njyanksfan

I love Seether!! Too bad you missed them. You are living the dream Phil!!!

6 03 2008
cromartiehopsparty

That’s so awesome, Seether opening for Three Days Grace is kind of a funny setup but oh well still amazing.

http://310tojoba.blogspot.com/

6 03 2008
jessicayanks

they are a great band! man you are so lucky!! must have been a really good show

6 03 2008
cspaced

I saw them in Mass a few weeks ago, they were amazing. I wish they were the headline band of the concert but Three Days Grace was pretty good themselves.

6 03 2008
thecaptain15

Phil,

Bring back the high socks!!!!!!!

http://www.madein1903.com/forum

6 03 2008
thunderfangabe

Hey Phil!
I just saw Seether, BB, and TDG a few weeks ago in Atlantic City. AWESOME SHOW!! That’s really cool you got to go and are friends with Ben. Lucky :)
Glad to see you are kickin’ butt in ST…go Yanks!
Gabe

6 03 2008
petercorsello1

Way to represent Phil, I have been trying to get my friends to listen to BB out here in So Cal. I have to say they are one of my favorites as well.

nice

7 03 2008
muroh

Thats cool, was that pic taken on Opening Night at PNC Field? I think Ben sang the anthem there for the first game in SWB Yanks history.

7 03 2008
derekpeter

Rockin the High Socks…you need to bring this back this year!

7 03 2008
shroud27

Holy crap holy crap… If you see Ben again ask him to have a concert in Venezuela so I can die a happy man. I absolutely love Breaking Benjamin..

7 03 2008
arodmariano4213

sooo you get to play in the bigs, meet lots of famous players AND hang out with one of your favorite bands?! must be great being you.

7 03 2008
bswill8550

good luck this yr,awesome bands man

7 03 2008
peachy124

seether, breaking benjamin, evans blue and three days grace are practically the only new rock bands out at the moment that i can stomach. seether’s sadly underrated

my favorite evans blue song is “saturnalia.” i think it’s still unreleased, or on a demo, or something? no idea. it’s good :)

7 03 2008
lubedlandlord

Wow! I love Breaking Benjamin too. “Phobia” was an amazing cd. My favorite song on there was definitely Evil Angel. I havent seen them in concert yet, but i plan on doing so soon. Good luck with this upcoming season Phil! We all have your back and we all support you 100%. GO YANKEES!

8 03 2008
yanxchick

Did you start liking BB while in Scranton? I know they’re a WB band.

8 03 2008
absoluteislander

That is seriously awesome. “Blow Me Away” (from Halo 2) would be a great warm-up song, I’m surprised nobody’s using it.

10 03 2008
h8boston

I love both of those bands! I had the chance to meet 3DG when they opened for Staind, they’re pretty cool guys in their own right.

11 03 2008
mattseattleusa

Hey Phil,

Greetings from Seattle, used to live in CT and have season tix..Your blog is great, thanks for sharing! Ever heard of Finger Eleven? Great band that puts on an amazing live show!
Take care and best of luck for the season!

12 03 2008
pinstripes3926

I think Diary of Jane is their best song, what’s anyone else’s favorite?

29 04 2008
katie34czapa

my personal favorite is Believe, off their “We are not alone album” but the acoustic version is Diary of Jane is really powerful. They’re the only band i listen to on my ipod
Phil, you’re so lucky you got to meet Ben!

9 07 2013
littleonionwrites

I’m so jealous!!! BB AND Three Days Grace?!? *Shakes head* Nice!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

