Football picks and other random thoughts…

17 01 2008

You can check me off as one of the few that believes a banged up Charger team can limp into Foxboro and hand the Pats their first loss since 2006. Maybe that’s wishful thinking, but give me San Diego 31-28. I also really like the way Eli has looked the last few weeks. I don’t think the freezing cold or lack of Seinfeld can hold him down. Giants over the Packers 16-10. I know I know, two underdogs on the road. Gotta step out on a limb sometimes.

Don’t know if we have any Metallica fans here but if you haven’t heard their S&M Live CD yet you really should. Thinking about going with “For Whom the Bell Tolls” as a walkout song. Check it out and let me know what you think. Also, when is this writers strike going to end? I don’t know how much longer I can go without any new Office episodes.


Actions

Information

123 responses

17 01 2008
triplew24

For Whom the Bell Tolls from the S&M album would definitely be a killer song to come out to. Also I’m with you when it comes to The Office, I’m really suffering without any new episodes.

17 01 2008
lemonjello

I’d love to see the Pats go down, though I’m not sure the Chargers can do it without a healthy LT. The Chargers’ defense is pretty impressive though. The Giants do have some nice momentum, and Eli is playing great, but I’m worried about him in cold weather. I’m hoping for a Giants-Chargers Super Bowl. As for TV, the writer’s strike is a huge pain, but if you have HBO, I recommend watching The Wire (the 5th season just started). It’s my new favorite show, a fantastic drama about the various facets of drug and crime-plagued Baltimore. Check out the earlier seasons if you have time.

17 01 2008
jmccann27

hey phil,

I know people have been saying you do AIM. No pressure and I don’t wanna ask around and stuff, but if you wanna chat, hit me up at jimmymaclax27.

17 01 2008
yankeechick78

I hope you aren’t betting the farm on the Pats losing. Don’t get me wrong I would love to see the Pats knocked out but I wouldn’t count on it.

My team has been out of it since week 2.😆 Yes I’m a Jet fan. So right now my only rooting interests are for the Pats to be knocked out and for the second digit in the score to be
Green Bay 3, Giants 5
Green Bay 1, Giants 8
at the end of each quarter in the Giants/Greenbay game.😉

17 01 2008
megarita

Lets go GIANTS! I am from CT and I would just like to comment that I have been watching thsoe Chargers and I am also one would believes (and would like to see) them beat a team up in Foxboro.

17 01 2008
bucknut7

Love the picks Phil, Go Giants! I think Eli can really establish himself here and I really believe in him also. Good call walking out to Metallica, great band, love there stuff.

17 01 2008
yanksgal07

I don’t know if it’s my computer but I seem to be missing part of your last post. I have the part about the football picks but the next part goes like this …

“Don’t know if we have any Metallica fans here but if you haven’t heard their S&M”

Seems like an unfinished thought since nothing else is posted after that. Am I missing something here ?

Anyway …this truly is a nice idea to keep the fans up to date with not only you but hopefully Yankee news too. Who would know better than a guy right in the clubhouse….right. That’s always been my biggest peeve with posters ….they always presume they know what really goes on with the team when in truth they don’t have a clue.

This gal is counting down the days till I hear the most beautiful words in the world “Play Ball”. Actually the most beautiful words are “We are the Champions” and I hope we will be singing that tune at the end of the 2008 season.

Thanks again Phil ….Go Yankees 2008 !!!!!

17 01 2008
yankeechick78

yanksgal07 I am missing the last part of the post too.

I also can’t wait for the season to start. I already have a hotel booked and tickets for Baltimore. And have a hotel in Toronto and waiting for tickets to go on sale.

17 01 2008
tairygreene

I don’t how long I can go with watching the Dwight’s Speech episode any longer; don’t get me wrong, it’s a classic, but I needs me some new episodes!!

You’re awesome Phil. Tell Joba I say hi.

17 01 2008
metalboy15

You should definitely go with “For Whom The Bells Tolls” as your entrance music.

17 01 2008
zellyanks91

Go Giants! I thought it was hilarious that they took Seinfeld (best show ever) off the air because Eli is playing the Packers, and they are actually voting on what show to replace it with. haha. I got Giants over Green Bay 20-17.

Kevin

17 01 2008
lohudyanksblog

Mighty Patriots 34-14. Sorry Phil.

17 01 2008
ilovephil

Phil.. I know you like the song Angels and Airwaves.. the WAR..

you posted it on your site last year..

everytime I hear that song I think of you.

17 01 2008
Andrew Fletcher

Phil, you should use “The Office” theme song to walk out to! Great song for a great show.

-Andrew
http://scottproctorsarm.blogspot.com

17 01 2008
yanksgal07

Yankeechick…

I’m going to Tampa in April for two games. I go to Baltimore every year. I’m thinking about Toronto this year…my daughter wants to go. Last year I attended 37 games …32 at the Stadium. I was fortunate to be at some of the biggest games …Phil’s first game, Arod’s walk off Granny, his 500th homer, Igawa’s one great game against Boston when he came in and shut them down after Karstens was hurt in the lst inning, Tyler Clippard’s game against the Mets at Shea, Joba’s first game at the stadium, Clemens first game back…the list goes on and on. Unfortunately I was also at the final playoff game against Cleveland too…sob sob. I really thought we were going to win that game …..

I already have the Sunday plan (which includes Opening Day, Old Timer’s and the last regular game of the season). I also have the 8 game plan and last year I got the Fugi fun pack…only 5 bucks a game but the seats were pretty good for those 7 games.

Every day I wake up and think …one more day closer to Spring Training ….Go Yankees 2008 !!!

17 01 2008
throwstrikes

Out on a limb is where NY’ers seem to be most comfortable. An acquired taste but one you’ll get used to.

Go Gints!!!

17 01 2008
yanksgal07

Ok …so …why don’t I get the rest of Phil’s post ???

17 01 2008
yankeechick78

Yeah I always go to Baltimore as well, it becomes like NY down there with all the Yankee fans!!

I’m not sure how many games I went to last year, but I’m pretty sure I saw just about every game Roger pitched! I wanted to see Phil or IPK pitch, but I always just missed their game. And I was always at the game the day after Joba pitched! I was also at the one and only great game Igawa pitched. It was actually the day of Mussina’s meet and greet.

17 01 2008
yankeechick78

I still can’t figure it out!!😦 I don’t know what to do!

17 01 2008
ilovephil

Angels And Airwaves – The War lyrics

perfect lyrics for Phil. Please lets end this trade speculation! all we want is you! to stay!

Believe, you want this
Believe, I want this too

Why wont you tell me that
It’s almost over
Why must this?
Tear my head
Inside out

Believe, you want this
Believe, I want this too

17 01 2008
tgfizeek

Hey Phil, good luck in ’08! Can’t wait to see what you have in store for us!

Everybody remember the Pats are 17-0, there’s a reason for that. I don’t like it any more than anyone else but it looks like they’re going all the way. (at least we won’t have to see those ’72 Dolphins and their champagne toast anymore)

17 01 2008
yanksgal07

That’s true about Roger ….it seems he was ALWAYS pitching when I was there …lol. If Andy and Wang pitch as good as last year & Phil pitches like he finished off last season in September and the playoffs …we are in good shape. I am pretty excited to see 6/7 innings of Joba …how exciting will that be ??? Moose will be the mystery ….I hope he can finish off his last year here with a respectable season. If not there is always IPK waiting in the wings. I do feel Moose will begin the season as one of the 5 starters but if he doesn’t do his thing he will get a fast hook by Joe G. Only speculation on my part tho’….we just have to wait and see …

Go Yankees 2008 !!!!

17 01 2008
rebeccaoptimist

Metallica? That is an EXCELLENT choice.

I don’t think the Chargers will win, but I will celebrate big time if they do…(Dude, I’m a Jets fan. They’re so bad that even when they could have the third pick in the draft they WIN their last game…and fall three spots).

Re: The Writer’s Strike:

Some smaller independent studios, such as the Weinstein Group and United Artists have already reached independent deals with their writers, though the big producer honchos are still holding out.

17 01 2008
yankeechick78

Okay for some reason if I go on firefox I can read the entire entry, but thru IE I get cut off.

Hey Phil you mean you aren’t excited about American Idol being back on? 😆 I really wish that show would go off the air already, I can’t stand it, can’t stand hearing about it.

17 01 2008
26yanksrule27

Hey Phil. Just wanted to drop you a note on your new blog. I don’t know if you remember, but when you spoke at the Syosset baseball dinner, I was one of the many people in attendance. Anyway, I like your Chargers pick, but I like the Packers, sorry Giants. As for your song, great choice. And I think another Metallica song would do us some good, look how well that guy using Enter Sandman came out😉
Good luck in ’08!

27 in 2008!

17 01 2008
philfranchise65

mettalica rocks. also what do you think of the writers strike?

17 01 2008
philfranchise65

also packers 28-24 and im a jet fan but pats 32-14

17 01 2008
philfranchise65

27 in 08

17 01 2008
alroskie

The S&M album is fantastic. It’s a wierd idea to put metallica together with a symphony orchestra, but it really works. For Whom The Bell Tolls would be great, and if it was the S&M symphony version even better. It’d be kinda fun to have some hard rocking orchestral music at the stadium. I’m surprised though that you just came across S&M now. The album’s been around for years. Whatever. I’d also suggest Human from S&M. You let the symphony intro play out and then make your entrance when the guitars come in. It’d be sweet! Anyways, all the best. Me and some friends are planning to drive over to Kansas City to see you guys play there on their opening day, so hopefully we’ll see you there.

17 01 2008
yankcrank20

you’re a great guy phil, but billy volek and an unhealthy LT aren’t going into foxboro and winning. i agree though, no office episodes is killing me too

17 01 2008
yanksgal07

Thanks Yankeechick ….I went to foxfire and got it too. Hey Phil ..My daughter says how about “Seek & Destroy” by Metallica ?? She thinks Joba should come out to the Imperial March from Star Wars …keeping with the Evil Empire theme ….lol

Go Yankees 2008 !!!

17 01 2008
yankeeschick

Phil – as a Chargers fan, I must thank you for showing some confidence in my BOLTS! They are riding on some good momentum, and they won sans Gates, Rivers, and LT last week. I’m hopeful. They need to bring some sports glory to SD!

xoxo
Yankees Chick
http://www.yankeeschick.com

17 01 2008
yankeeschick

…And YankCrank, VOLEK saved the day on Sunday! Don’t deny it!

And Rivers will be good to go on Sunday…

17 01 2008
kronk42583

I don’t know the version from S&M, but i have Ride the Lightning and for whom the bell tolls would be an awesome warmup song. Can’t wait to listen to it next season at the stadium. Fade to Black is my favorite metallica song also from the Ride the Lightning album, not sure it’d make as good a warmup song though. good luck this year!

17 01 2008
cupajoba

Phil – Great idea with the blog! Already bookmarked it and have been spreading the news.

Pick a song that will pump you up so you strike out 15 batters!! I’m glad you weren’t traded and will be in pinstripes this year and hopefully for your career!!!

17 01 2008
ilovephil

“Seek & Destroy” by Metallica was used by David Wells for years. It’s played out.

17 01 2008
trvlc

I’m hoping for a Giants-Patriots rematch. With different results than Week 17 of course. The Red Sox, Celtics, Patriots — they’re all having far too many successes these days. Those silly New Englanders’ heads are getting big.

17 01 2008
jzeidenb

For Whom The Bells Tolls is a solid song, ive always liked “one” better though. Im also really happy you have a blog now, it’ll be cool to follow your progress this year.

I swear I will probably break into Hanks office with a machete if they pull the trigger on that deal. I dont see what the big fuss over santana is. He had his worst full season last year. has a lousy ERA against the AL East, and isnt getting any younger.

As for the NFL picks, I am no pats fan but im going to root for them cuz phillip rivers is a punk and doesnt deserve to win. he needs to grow up first. Im a big Giants fan so im praying your pick is right for that game.

17 01 2008
nyymexfan

Great to know you’ll be in touch with all of us, Yankees fans, Phil. My name is Jorge, and I’m from Mérida, Yucatán, México. A die-hard yankee fan.

17 01 2008
yanksgal07

I guess you can tell I’m not a big Metallica fan …honestly I wouldn’t be able to tell one song from the other EXCEPT for Enter Sandman…. naturally!!! My daughter really didn’t follow baseball till about 5 years ago ….she had no clue about Wells using it. I just informed her …she said …WHATEVER !!!! lol …

I just listened to “For Whom the Bells Toll” …sounds good for an entrance. The coolest entrance song for me is Trevor Hoffman’s Hell’s Bells…AC/DC. Those clanging bells are amazing when he first comes in …..

Go Yankees 2008 !!!

17 01 2008
yanksgal07

Hey Jorge …did you post on Mike Feinsand’s blog? This is Peggy …I use to post there before it got completely out of control with all the nutty sox fans.

Go Yankees 2008 !!!

17 01 2008
brettm25

Phil, while I hate your football picks, I have a solution to get you through the writers strike. I recently purchased the Office DVDs, so to pass the time I just watch old seasons. If you don’t have the seasons on DVD I suggest you pick them up and they will certainly pass the time.

17 01 2008
rayblay

Why do I get the feeling you are one of the only people who have faith in the Chargers just because of your California roots?! But it’s cool to see a person go out on a limb sometimes. I personally would be fascinated with the Rivers-Manning match up if that were to happen. But do you only support the Giants because you want to make the Yankees fans happy? Hmmm…
BTW, nice reference to that Seinfeld thing. I was falling over laughing at the absurdity of the whole thing.

17 01 2008
theansky

Go Blue!!! Giants dont lose on the road nowadays. And i’ll take any belated christmas gift of the Pats losing.

brettm25 makes a good point about the Office DVDs. Watch the deleted scenes for each epi as well. They can average around 7 mins and add tons of QUALITY footage for a bored fanatic.

I cant take much more of this strike either. Short seasons for every great show: 30 Rock, Lost, Office, you name it. Too much reality TV makes the brain go soft.

17 01 2008
fleaz

Phil,

I always imagined you coming out to pitch with “Man Or Animal” by Audioslave on album: Out Of Exile

Man someone needs to pick that … that song is like pure adrenaline and sends a message too😛

17 01 2008
mschell

If your gonna go with Metallica…I’m partial to Master of Puppets…but either way For Whom the Bell Tolls is a solid choice.

Those Chargers better be healthy and take down the Pats, wipe that smug ass smile off of Brady’s face.

17 01 2008
riverwolf2005

Missing the rest of the Metallica but in the responses I am guessing your entrance tunes. I say go with FUEL by Metallica. Really would sound sick with a pitcher throwin heat like you do.

Give me Fuel
Give me Fire
Give me that wich I desire

17 01 2008
ihateumps17

For Whom the Bell Tolls is a great song to choose I am actually just starting to get into Metallica since my friends ar heavy into it and its one of my favorites.

17 01 2008
handtius

For a song, For Whom the Bell Tolls is good, but done. Be original. In order: Am I Evil, Creeping Death, Damge. Inc or Harvester of Sorrow. These song make the hair on the back of your neck stand up. All songs are a good statement to the apposing team. Or go some real heavy and do some pantera or slayer.

-ryan
http://www.ryanhandt.com

17 01 2008
philfranchise65

any metalica song can pump you up

17 01 2008
dewey23

Phil,
Thats messed up that you brought up S&M, cuz I just took out my DVD of that 2 nights ago and haven’t watched it in roughly 5 years. Weird…

Anyway, Metallica pre-BLACK is quality stuff, and I still like the Load records. St. Anger should never be heard again. We’ll see what their new one sounds like this year. Should be interesting.

This is cool as hell that you are commenting with us, can you fill us in on some of your favorite bands and stuff? Do you go to many concerts in the offseason?

17 01 2008
riverwolf2005

One more thing…if you are looking for decent music to listen to, check out 30 seconds to Mars. Jared Letto is the lead singer and their 1st CD is AWESOME!! I especially like the song Capricorn

17 01 2008
jaewon

Let’s go Giants! (And Yankees and Knicks. . .)

Man this blog is cool. If you haven’t already, check out Peter Abraham’s blog. It’s very amusing and his good, accurate, and reliable information.

Here’s the link: http://yankees.lhblogs.com/

17 01 2008
nysportsfandotorg

Celebrated my birthday this year, eating wings and having beers while watching your no-hit bid. I won’t forget it and I hope it is a sign of things to come.

Love the blog and could not be more pleased that you picked against the Pats! That’s the fastest way to a Jets’ fans heart.

Where do you think Joba should be in ’08? With you in the rotation or setting up Mariano? http://www.nysportsfan.org

17 01 2008
frostdude1

Thats our boy Phil !!! Taking the G MEN and the Chargers this weekend.

You sure do know how to make a Yankee fan like you even more.

17 01 2008
betsypaige

Can anyone tell me what foxfire is please? I also can’t read the rest of the blog. Thanks!

17 01 2008
betsypaige

26YanksRule27, when was Phil in Syosset? Oh I’m really annoyed to have missed him as I live two minutes away……..!

17 01 2008
betsypaige

Oops, nevermind – I figured it out and was finally able to read the rest of the blog.

Phil, I’m going through Office withdrawal too – have you ever seen the original English version? It’s hilarious, but I kid you not – you really do need the subtitles to understand what they are saying. I recommend you buy the DVDs – if possible, the English version is even more cringe inducing than the American version

17 01 2008
betsypaige

Oops, nevermind – I figured it out and was finally able to read the rest of the blog.

Phil, I’m going through Office withdrawal too – have you ever seen the original English version? It’s hilarious, but I kid you not – you really do need the subtitles to understand what they are saying. I recommend you buy the DVDs – if possible, the English version is even more cringe inducing than the American version

17 01 2008
riverwolf2005

betsypaige. Go to http://www.firefox.com and download it. It is a web browser just like IE but a different MFG.

17 01 2008
betsypaige

Thanks, Riverwolf! I thought I was losing my mind because I didn’t see any references to the Office…..I just downloaded Firefox and now it works just fine. thanks again!

17 01 2008
riverwolf2005

NP. I had to do the same thing. No idea why IE won’t let us see it all tho

17 01 2008
dontyaknow24

phil-

riverwolf is right, fuel is sick and it’ll pump you up.

metallica is my favorite band, but if i got to choose my entrance song it would either be:

here to stay- korn
or
halo-soil

those songs are sick.

later dr.phil.

17 01 2008
riverwolf2005

I just figured for a fireball pitcher like Phil it fits perfectly.
Fuel=pumping you up
Fire=Bring the heat
what you desire=total dominance, a win and a ton of SO. Not to mention #27😉

What better song for a pitcher?

17 01 2008
yankeeman26

i would defiantly want to see the giants beat the pat in the super bowl. and i agree the office needs to come back.

17 01 2008
anaconda44

Can’t think of a better song than “Master of Puppets” to pump you up before a game.

Congrats on the blog, Phil.

It has taken you all of two days to unseat LoHud as the most trafficked Yankee blog in the land.

Kudos.

17 01 2008
battlerex99

Haha, it would be quite interesting if your football picks end up being right. Eli Manning vs. Philip Rivers in the Super Bowl. It’s too perfect.

As for your entrance music, I personally wouldn’t go with “For Whom the Bell Tolls.” It works, but it’s been used. You need a signature song. My idea would be to go with “Seven Nation Army” by The White Stripes. Fantastic beat, some hardcore parts, and trust me, the crowd would really get into it.

Other possibilities are “Cherub Rock” by The Smashing Pumpkins, “No One Knows” by Queens of the Stone Age, or “The Pretender” by Foo Fighters. These are basically all the songs that I use to pump myself up before I play hockey or baseball. Use them well.

To be fair though, I’ve never really been able to get into Metallica besides “One” and “Fade to Black.” I like “Enter Sandman” too, but that’s only because of Mo.

17 01 2008
runnerjonathan

i teach elementary school gym and i have tons of fifth grade students with “hughes 65” jerseys
you are going to have a big year phil-i hope the yanks keep the trio in tact.
jp

17 01 2008
gcohen9782

Phil, I think it’s great that you have your own blog, and I hope you are a Yankee for the rest of your career. Nothing would upset me more than watching you win Cy Young award for the damn Twins.

Anyway about the S&M album, it rocks. There really isn’t a bad song on the album. My personal favorites are “No Leaf Clover” and “Of Wold And Man”, followed closely by “For Whom The Bells Toll” and “Master Of Puppets” and “Outlaw Torn”. If you guys want to watch some videos from the S&M tour, goto Youtube and type in “metallica s&m”, there are a ton.

Oh, and Go Big Blue!!!

Greg Cohen

http://slidingintohome.blogspot.com

18 01 2008
61studio

Am I the only one annoyed by the writers strike simply because every time I walk into a Starbucks I see 12,000 people all sitting around hoping to get noticed as a writer.

Give these guys a chance. No baseball and all reality tv makes Jack go crazy.

http://www.61studio.com/

18 01 2008
kb26

Oh, Phil, I can’t even yell at you on the T.V. anymore: you’re choosing Chargers/Giants. I’m not even a big football fan, but I’m hoping for those results. Does anyone really like the Pats? Methinks no. Plus, the Giants have been kicking butt and taking names on the road. Hopefully Eli can stay composed and deliver a good game.

Hey, have you been watching the Australian Open? I heard you were at the U.S. Open last year (at the Blake/Baghdatis match?), and while it’s not a very mainstream taste (tennis, eh), I’m interested in the draw this year. The real question is if anyone has a shot to beat Federer. And, of course, what are the chances of Serena repeating. Last year, I think she went through the draw because she was out to prove that she wasn’t washed up. I wonder if being atop the pyramid is enough to get her into the semis.

I don’t listen to metal at all, but my music tastes can be summed up in a phrase: I’ll listen to anything once. So I’ll try some Metallica (outside of Enter Sandman, of course). And I don’t watch The Office, but it’s been suggested so many times that I’ll have to pick up the DVDs.

Can I just say how cool it is again that you’re talking to fans? And by talking, I mean posting things on a blog to which we reply (and hover) because you’re really awesome?

~Kaitlin

18 01 2008
gcohen9782

Kaitlin,

The Office is hilarious, you must check it out.

Greg Cohen

http://slidingintohome.blogspot.com

18 01 2008
yankeez24

hey how you doing hughes good pick on the football picks. but i honestly think those patroits might take it . cause everything is on their side. even the referees. but anyways thats a good song you picked out . anyways hit me up on my aim if you want to chat with me hit me up on ny yankeez pride

18 01 2008
nyyank

I certainly hope the chargers can pull through. As for the writer’s strike, ditto. The Office is probably the show I miss the most of all of them.

18 01 2008
nyy1rj

Phil, I think you should check out the song “War Ensemble” by SLAYER or “DNR” by Testament.

18 01 2008
saucyflossy

not even sure who to root for in the afc. i think i dislike both of them, not necesarily hate though (don’t like brady or merriman). as a giant fan, i guess i should just worry about this sunday for now. but a SB win over the patriots would be so much sweeter than a SB win over SD, although tougher most likely. i’ll quit rambling now.

18 01 2008
bronxliaison

Phil:

If you like Metallica, check out “Element” by Vision of Disorder. If that song doesn’t get you pumped up, nothing will.

Also, writers strike better not interfere with Lost. But, luckily for me, the best show on tv The Wire is running fine.

18 01 2008
bronxliaison

I know your a Cali guy, so Chargers make sense, but is that your team in the NFL?

Tony @ Bronx Liaison
http://bronx-bomberz.blogspot.com/

18 01 2008
penningtonny10

Use some Primus to walk into the game to. The opposing team would be so psyched out because of their awesome-ness.

18 01 2008
saucyflossy

Gorilla Biscuits – “Start Today”😆

i need sleep😕

18 01 2008
donniebaseball

phil,
i haven’t had a yank to attach myself to as a fan since mattingly. i definitely root for your success and your stats. you’re my new favorite yank. every yankee fan i know DOES NOT WANT YOU TRADED for johan or anyone. i’m pretty sure the yanks have realized that it would be incredibly stupid. i hope you’re with the yanks your whole career. if you’re finishing your pitches, you can be a top starter in the league. you’ve already got a lot of fans. good luck this year!

18 01 2008
donniebaseball

also, i live in san diego. huge chargers fan. i think your prediction is about right. lol

18 01 2008
paddy870

Phil,
You gain my respect more and more everyday!! I was a tenneager in the 80s and saw Metallica, Guns, and Faith No More in New orleans…after a hurricane had hit in the early 90s….it rocked! the SnM cd set riles. How unique is that?!?! proves that they are extremely talented. have been a long time.
Roger coming into the game in late innings with Master!! in the backdrop would raise the roof off!!
Yet I digress, manning needs to hand it off more this weekend. Jacobs is a moster. Thunder and Lighting reborn!
I recall the last time a team messed with us……….GET YOUR POPCORN READY!!!
I’d love o see the Pate eat it this weekend too. Somethin about Brady this year doent sit well with me,
ROCK ON PHIL!! KICK ACE IN YOUR WORK OUTS AND ST THIS YEAR…..PREPARE FOR GLORY IN 08!!
paddy

18 01 2008
dustin563

Phil,
I definitely recommend that you check out this Office web site.

http://www.officetally.com

Some people organized an Office Convention this past October. It even took place in Scranton. The more you watch, the more you understand why people are obsessed with this show.

I’m with you on the Chargers.

18 01 2008
maineyankeesfan

Hello, I remember going to a Portland Seadogs (AA afiliate for the Sox) game in which you were pitching. I don’t remember the exact line, but you were incredible. You were pulled in the 5th inning while only giving up 2 hits, and you have double digits in SOs. I gave you a one person standing ovation, and you were kind enough to tip you hat my way.

I think as far as a song goes, I think “Creeping Death” deserves some consideration..

18 01 2008
santoast

16-10 is an awfully low-scoring prediction the way the Packers have been putting up points lately. I don’t see it. This game figures to be a shootout, and while Eli’s looked remarkably competent of late, I can’t see him prevailing over ol’ Love of the Game.

18 01 2008
santoast

Oh, and I so hope you’re right about the Chargers. We are all a mere two wins away from having to suffer an eternity of insufferable Patriot fans.

18 01 2008
traderben

I second (or third, or whatever it is) Seek and Destroy if you are thinking along Metallica lines. Of course you can’t go wrong with “Killing in the Name of” by Rage. Not sure the ending would go over so well at the Stadium though.

18 01 2008
jnr98

S&M is an incredible album. Very impressed with you calling it out.

So what would be YOUR entry song, if you had one?

Jason
http://itsaboutthemoney.blogspot.com

18 01 2008
ilpg

It’s gonna be really tough for Eli to go into Lambeau (in sub-zero temperatures) and pull out a victory.

Can’t believe you’re going against the grain on the Pats game, Phil. Do you really think Billy Volek can lead the charge?

18 01 2008
rmoretti23

I’m with you on the Giants, their weak secondary won’t be as exploited in the run-favoring weather, the rest of the defense is solid.

Not so sure about the Chargers, but they really showed some guts in that game against the Colts, so it should be fun to watch.

For Whom The Bell Tolls sounds awesome!

18 01 2008
chazbedlam

Phil Freaking Hughes! First I have heard of your blog, dude. I look forward to hearing you comments in the future. Maybe off the topic of your post, but I just wanted to say that I haven’t been as excited about a young rookie on this team like you and Joba since Jeter cam up! I hope that Cashman makes the smart move and doesn’t waste you and some of the other talented Yankee youngsters on a Johan trade. Frankly, we have already seen that you have the stones to pitch in this division. Johan has a 13-11 record against our AL East opponents and an ERA around 4 for his career. He will get killed pitching half of his starts in this tough division. You impressed the hell out of me in the ALDS in 07. I hope to see you throwing strikes for this team for many years. Keep up the good work, I will be watching and hoping that you continue to improve. Good luck in ’08! GO YANKEES!!!!!

18 01 2008
chazbedlam

Phil, if you want an awesome Metallica song to come to the mound to, go with “The Thing That Should Not Be”.

18 01 2008
uvmyankee20

Phil, great to see you have a blog. I am a huge Metallica fan and always warmed up to Battery when I was playing high school hockey years ago. We also came out to For Whom the Bell Tolls a lot, it’s a huge crowd favorite. I’m pumped to see that you’ll be staying in pinstripes this year. I was at your return game from the injury against KC at the Stadium when Arod hit 500, and was really excited to see you pitch in person. I like Chaz and many others was really impressed with your ALDS outing, it showed some big time stones to not fold under that kind of pressure and extend our season for another game. I really hope to see you dominate this season, I have a season-long bet with my Sox fan roomate that you’ll out-pitch Bucholtz, and I’m pretty confidant. I like the Gaints as well, and I pray that the Pats get bounced, dono if that’ll happen but all this Boston crap is making me rather ill. Go G-Men, and then Go YANKS!!!!!!

18 01 2008
yanksin08

Go Chargers!!!!! and Metallica rules!!! How about Pennywise Bro Hym? Crowd would go crazy! Bars in San Diego and the South Bay area have banned it from the juke boxes because it gets everyone too crazy! Yanks in 08!

18 01 2008
nyymexfan

PEGGY!!!!!

Good to hear from you again. A shame what happened with Mark Feinsand’s site. Some of us are in touch in a new site. It had some problems, so now it has changed its link. The new one is this:

http://yankeefansunite.freeforums.org/index.php

It would be great if you can register yourself over there. Your comments are always really interesting.

18 01 2008
wastedtalent

Got to agree with FUEL.

Can’t really go wrong either way.

18 01 2008
rpillai

I agree , Chargers are going to beat the Pats and finally end the misery. I hope the G-Men win and go to the Bowl but if the Packers win I wouldn’t be so sad either.

18 01 2008
scottnardi

I fear¨For Whom the Bell Tolls¨ has turned into something of a cliche´ and the fans might be appreciative of something a bit more obscure. Personally I always thought ¨Frayed Ends of Sanity¨ would be a cool entrance song with that weird Wizard of Oz chant kind of freaking people out but then again my last fastball clocked in at 60mph so I digress. Really the music they play at the Stadium is very lame. If they send you guys out to Äre You ready For This¨again this year or if i hear ¨Cotton Eyed Joe¨or ŸMCA¨one more time, I might just have a breakdown. Seriously you should use whatever song gets you amped. You could use ¨Ÿour Body is a Wonderland¨ and no one would really care as long as you´re doing your thing and mowing guys down. Also, I thought you pitched awesome popping your playoff cherry. It reminded me of what Moose did in 2003 during the Aaron Boone game. I wish Joe had given you a start. Make us thank God for Cashman keeping a cool head and have us saying Johan who?

18 01 2008
chosen1s65

I agree with the Chargers cause I can’t stand Randy Moss but I’m pulling for Farve.

18 01 2008
JT

Not crazy about the S&M album, but “For Whom The Bell Tolls” is my second favorite Metallica song, next to “Master of Puppets.”

18 01 2008
dwalsh587

If you’re pretty set with Metallica, that song’s pretty good. However, I would probably put “One” ahead of it. Just my opinion

18 01 2008
yanks2119

The Giants will have a tough time against the Packers in the freezing weather, but I am confident they can win. As long as Eli continues to play as well as he has been and the Giants’ secondary plays like they did against the Cowboys. It also helps that Ross will be playing Sunday.

I think “For Whom The Bell Tolls” is a great choice for your walkout song.

And as for the writers strike, I am hoping it comes to an end soon. The Office is one of my favorite shows and I’ve been dying for new episodes.

18 01 2008
pamelajeet

Hey Phil your’e so awesome, and I loved the way you pitched in the Clevland playoffs, Joe Torre should have gave you a start dude! Anyways I think you should go with “Fight Fire With Fire” or maybe “Whiplash” for your intro song, “For Whom the Bell Tolls” is a great song but it’s so played out!

18 01 2008
ireadphilhughes

HUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGHES!

Let me start by saying that will become your 2 strike cheer in my house. Being that we are the same age, Im not gonna lie… a little jealous. You got a pretty good gig being the future of the greatest sports organization in history, so if you ever need like a bodyguard or something let me know. Im only 5’9” but Im not afraid to bite people.

Entrance music is a big deal in Yankee Stadium, especially when you are preparing for a 20 win season. Metallica is solid – but I think you can never go wrong with any decision in life as long as it involves AXL ROSE. So i would say my pick is G n’ R “Nighttrain”. The amount of cowbell in that song will only confuse Manny even more everytime he comes to NY.

And the office? I think we all need a little more Pam Beisley in our lives.

18 01 2008
longhornkhoa

GO GIANTS! The high is 6 degrees F Sunday night in Green Bay. Should be a doozie!

18 01 2008
longhornkhoa

P, you ever watch the original BBC version? If not, go grab the DVDs. It’s a hilarious stand-in for your NBC version craving.

18 01 2008
ihtys

you heard about a random killer🙂 ?

18 01 2008
russomcbo78

HELL YEAH, that a great song phil…But dont u think is enough of metallica with Enter Sandman for MO. Try other heavy band , please NO Emo, pop, reggaeton and all that sh*t.

18 01 2008
slayercommathe

I really, really hope you’re right about the Giants and Chargers….I’m hopinh and praying they both win. I love this blog already🙂

19 01 2008
wastedtalent

not happening

19 01 2008
pzevallos216

phil, it’s ok….house is still on tuesdays and thursdays🙂

19 01 2008
yankeegirl65

giants all the way man

20 01 2008
keethgee

As a walkout song, I always thought “Sad But True” would be great, maybe even moreso for a closer.

“I’m your dream, make you real” = pitcher batter’s been imagining/obsessing about facing, the real measure of the batter

“I’m your eyes when you must steal” = pickoff threat

“I’m your pain when you can’t feel” = when numb and overmatched/shocked, pitcher is source of that pain and anguish

“Sad but true” = face it, I’m coming to take you down, be your pain and torment, and there’s nothing you can do about it. I’m in the game. Bad for you. Sad but true.

A very dominating, inevitable outcome sort of walkout song.

20 01 2008
keethgee

Oh, and “Sad But True” has an incredibly ominous and recognizable intro, too…just listen to it, and tell me it doesn’t sound like some badass pitcher is taking the mound! Ominous and taunting. Perfect for a pitcher.

20 01 2008
chrisv82

“Orion” has always been my favorite Metallica song. It doesn’t seem like a traditional opening, but I like the way it builds up in the beginning until that fuzzy, chunky riff comes in with that driving bassline thudding through it.

You know, Anthrax’s Scott Ian is a big Yankees fan, he’d probably love if you chose “I am the Law.”

20 01 2008
bxbomber44

walk out to Everyday I’m Hustlin cuz we all know you’re a true OG.

23 01 2008
mickfury

Phil, coming out to Metallica would be pretty awesome.

Cant go wrong with For Whom The Bell Tolls with that sinister and then thundering opening.

Some other ideas could be Creeping Death, Master of Puppets, Am I Evil?, or Battery. And if you are feeling particularly badass, just go with Fight Fire With Fire🙂

25 01 2008
yanks6562

Phil – just heard about your site on Yankees.com. Awesome.
Anyway, “For Whom the Bell Tolls” is an awesome choice for a song. I totally endorse it. If not, “Wherever I May Roam” or “Seek and Destroy” are also great options. You’re right, almost every song on S&M is great.
Can’t wait for the season to start & see you pitch totally healthy. Looking forward to more starts like the game in Texas.

26 01 2008
chuckeo

as much as I am a Metallica fan, you already have 2 New York closers using sandman plus, doesn’t david wells come in on mettalica? I’m not saying don’t use it but it seems like a lot of people go right for mettalica.
You need something just as hardcore but just different enough to be yours. Something that ignites. Maybe something like “cowboys from Hell” by pantera or even some old school Van Halen.
Otherwise, loved you pics for the game. You were close on San Diego. Really glad to see you picked the Giants. So what are your picks for the superbowl?

26 01 2008
dcherm

seriously. the office is the like best show ever and they need to make more episodes.

27 01 2008
thewonderllama

I have been cheering for someone to use Bellz for AGES. To heck with Trevor Hoffman, we know who’s got the biggest bells of them all.

Barring that, for years I thought Smoke on the Water would be a great tune for Mo, but it would be a pretty killer number for you too.

Can’t wait to get down to the Stadium this year!

28 01 2008
philhughes1994

Phil, i know you like rock, as do i, but if u can’t decide on a song, why not pick up Guitar Hero 1, 2, or 3. There’s also Guitar Hero Rock the 80’s so i’m sure Metallica is on there. all of them have great rock songs, that most people should know, did u think of using a Red Hot Chili Peppers song? Maybe, Dani California? Hope you read this

Leave a Reply

